Selfish Selfless & Balance

So I’m still trying to treat myself better and address my needs more.

It’s not always easy to find the balance when you are in a relationship or have children.

You need to care for others because you are a parent or a partner, but you can’t always ignore your needs to make others happy.

On the other hand, you can’t blow off your responsibilities because you want a pedicure. Lol.

For example, if I told my daughter I couldn’t take her to school on Monday because I wanted to sleep late, I would be sending her the message that her education is less important to me than sleep.

That is pretty selfish and would do lasting damage to our relationship. (It’s also a completely ridiculous analogy, unfortunately, I know there are people that wouldn’t think this was a big deal)

I guess the most important thing to remember is that there are people that rely on you, but there has to be a balance between what you need to do and what you want to do.

Your family and friends love you and if you tell them what you need, they will understand and help you just as you would them. It’s part of team work.

Like the lottery commercial says, ‘you gotta be in it to win it’ Well, that applies to life too, you have to speak your needs, or no one will know what you want.

THV

Posted from WordPress for Android

Leave a Reply

